© 2024 Red River Radio
Voice of the Community
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

San Francisco Symphony: Bruch's Violin Concerto

San Francisco Symphony On Stage
Stefan Cohen
San Francisco Symphony
San Francisco Symphony On Stage

Airs Friday, October 2, 2020, at 12 noon. Since its beginning in 1911, the San Francisco Symphony has been known for innovative programs that offer a spectrum of traditional repertory and new music. Today, the Orchestra’s artistic vitality, recordings, and groundbreaking multimedia educational projects carry its impact throughout American musical life. This week the the orchestra is joined by violinist James Ehnes for a performance of the Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor by Max Bruch. Marek Janowski will conduct the orchestra and the concert opens with Mendelssohn's Ruy Blas Overture and the concert concludes with Wagner's Paris version of the Overture and Venusberg Music from Tannhäuser as well as his Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde.