© 2024 Red River Radio
Voice of the Community
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The San Francisco: Pianist Daniil Trifonov performs Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3

San Francisco Symphony Onstage
Stefan Cohen
San Francisco Symphony Onstage

Airs Monday, August 19, 2019, at 1 p.m. Pianist Daniil Trifonov joins Michael Tilson Thomas and the orchestra for the fiendishly difficult Rachmaninoff 3. Also performed are two of Jean Sibelius's final works that redefined what a symphony could be.

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 6, Op. 104
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 105
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
Aaron Copland: Quiet City