© 2024 Red River Radio
Voice of the Community
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Carnegie Hall Live: Martha Argerich and Rome’s Santa Cecilia Orchestra

Airs Thursday, July 4, 2019, at 1 p.m. This episode of Carnegie Hall Live features the Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, under the direction of Antonio Pappano, performing quintessentially Italian works by Giuseppe Verdi and Ottorino Respighi. The program also includes Argentine pianist Martha Argerich leading Prokofiev's Third Piano Concerto, a personal favorite of hers. This was Argerich's first Carnegie appearance in nearly a decade.

VERDI: Sinfonia from Aida
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3
RAVEL: Little Ugly Girl (encore)
RESPIGHI: Fountains of Rome
RESPIGHI: Pines of Rome
SIBELIUS: Valse Triste (encore)