© 2024 Red River Radio
Voice of the Community
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Carnegie Hall Live: Sir András Schiff plays Bach, Beethoven and Brahms

Airs Thursday, November 29, 2018, at 1 p.m. This Carnegie Hall Live broadcast features pianist Sir András Schiff performing fantasies, sonatas and suites by Mendelssohn and the most well-known configuration of the "Three Bs" — Bach, Beethoven and Brahms. The concert opens with Mendelssohn's Fantasia in F-sharp Minor, Op. 28. Then we'll hear the Piano Sonata No. 24 in F-sharp Major, Op. 78 by Beethoven. Next up, two works by Brahms, his Klavierstücke, Op. 76; and his Seven Fantasies, Op. 116. And this concert concludes with Bach's English Suite No. 6 in D Minor. Jeff Spurgeon and John Schaefer co-host the broadcast.