Aaron Copland

Airs Monday, September 16, 2019, at 1 p.m. The Cleveland Orchestra 2019 season continues on Red River Radio with Guest Conductor John Adams opening and closing the concert with two of his own works. We'll hear his Short Ride in a Fast Machine and the Cleveland Orchestra premiere of Scheherazade.2 featuring violinist Leila Josefowicz. In between Aaron Copland's Quiet City and Appalachian Spring.

San Francisco Symphony Onstage
Stefan Cohen / SFS

Airs Monday, August 19, 2019, at 1 p.m. Pianist Daniil Trifonov joins Michael Tilson Thomas and the orchestra for the fiendishly difficult Rachmaninoff 3. Also performed are two of Jean Sibelius's final works that redefined what a symphony could be.

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 6, Op. 104
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 105
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
Aaron Copland: Quiet City

San Francisco Symphony Onstage
Stefan Cohen / SFS

Airs Monday, August 5, 2019, at 1 p.m. Pianist Behzod Abduraimov joins Michael Tilson Thomas and the orchestra for a musical chess match by Sergei Prokofiev. Also featured is a world premiere by the symphony's former composer in residence, Charles Wuorinen, and Aaron Copland's voice of the people.

Press Image - Holly Mulcahy / Holly Mulcahy

Airs Friday, june 29, 2018, at 12 noon. This week on the Regional Symphony Broadcast we present the opening concert from the 42nd season of the Shreveport Summer Music Festival. The concert features Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky Elegie from Serenade for String Orchestra, Shaker loops by John Adams, the Violin Concerto #2 by Philip Glass with violinist Holly Mulcahy, and Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring Suite with original instrumentation. Leonard Kacenjar and Kermit Poling conduct.

Press Image / WFMT

Airs Sunday, April 1, 2018, at 6 - 8 p.m. A Celebration of Peace Through Music is a celebration of music and spirit, open to people of all faiths. Conducted by Sir Gilbert Levine, the concert honors the canonizations of Pope John Paul II and Pope John XXIII, in the spirit of Pope Francis. Each musical work performed was selected to reflect the spirit of these three great spiritual leaders and their commitment to peace and brotherhood among people of all faiths.